7 on-point denim looks for every day of the week

7 on-point denim looks for every day of the week

Love denim so much you want to wear it all the time? Here’s how to get away with doubling up on the well-loved fabric everyday.

By Jane Schon | 21st May 2015

Denim has once again been pegged as a principal trend for the Autumn Winter 2015 season. This year we’re seeing an explosion of fuller silhouettes, head-to-toe denim and experimentation with the fabric being used in innovative ways.

Designers paid homage to eras gone by – back as far as the sixties and seventies – with flares, jumpsuits, cropped wide-leg jeans and floor-grazing maxi skirts topping the list of ‘trendy’ cuts.

Styling has taken a distinctly grunge feel – featuring lots of frayed edges, layering and oversized pieces, along with embellishments and decorations, cargo pockets and patches.

The clean denim trend is also sure to make an appearance in stylish wardrobes everywhere – no rips, faded marks or pulls – in classic blue denim shades.

Don’t worry – your favourite pieces are still very much ‘in’ this season from boyfriend jeans to white skinnies, pencil skirts, worn-out (or should we say well-loved) jackets, and your go-to denim button up shirt.

To keep your faves in the mix while also injecting what’s on-trend, here’s just 7 ways to werk old and new denim loves every day of the week...

Monday: Morning meeting - denim pencil skirt

Keep it professional by pairing your form-fitting denim skirt with a crisp white shirt and leather jacket. Go embellished denim for an on-point look.

Maggie metal handle bag $44.95, Colette by Colette Hayman http://www.colettehayman.com.au/shop/maggie-metal-handle-bag-id27671.html ; Charlie waterfall jacket $129.99, Forever New http://www.forevernew.com.au/charlie-waterfall-jacket-22716801 ; Sibling Distressed denim pencil skirt $290.49, Net-a-porter  http://www.net-a-porter.com/au/en/product/517553 ; Dream On earrings $99, Samantha Wills  http://www.samanthawills.com/shop/earrings/dream-on-earrings-white-howlite.html ; Silk Collar cotton shirt, Witchery $129.95 http://m.witchery.com.au/shop/woman/clothing/shirts/60179287/Silk-Collar-Cotton-Shirt.html ; Seer heel $169.99, Wittner http://www.wittner.com.au/seer-black.html

Maggie metal handle bag $44.95, Colette by Colette Hayman ; Charlie waterfall jacket $129.99, Forever New ; Sibling Distressed denim pencil skirt $290.49, Net-a-porter ; Dream On earrings $99, Samantha Wills ; Silk Collar cotton shirt $129.95, Witchery ; Seer heel $169.99, Wittner

Tuesday: A day in the office - denim jacket

Not leaving your desk all day? Choose a more casual look with black skinny jeans, a nautical stripe tee and your favourite pair of converse shoes. Or if you need something a little classier, pair your jacket with a full denim skirt and stylish loafer.

WAVEN Denim Duster Coat $127, ASOS  http://us.asos.com/WAVEN-Denim-Duster-Coat/15l4ak/?iid=4983824 ; Carly CZ drop earrings $14.99, Forever New http://www.forevernew.com.au/carly-cz-drop-earrings-2021862501007 ; Ermanno Scervino A-line pleated denim skirt 499.35, Farfetch http://www.farfetch.com/au/shopping/item10968036.aspx?ffref=pp_recom ;  Moth stripe top $149, Gorman http://www.gormanshop.com.au/clothing/all/moth-stripe-top.html ; Marc by Marc Jacobs Too Hot To Handle Mini drawstring bag $245.87, Revolve Clothing http://www.revolveclothing.com.au/marc-by-marc-jacobs-too-hot-to-handle-mini-drawstring-bag-in-tropical-peach/dp/MARC-WY623/?aliasURL=marc-by-marc-jacobs-too-hot-to-handle-mini-drawstring-bag-in-tropical-peach/dp/MARC-WY623&&sectionURL=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com.au%2F&product=MARC-WY623&hasCTL=false ; Beau Coops Edie bianco shoe $370.00, ZOMP http://www.zomp.com.au/beau-coops-edie-bianco

WAVEN Denim Duster Coat $127, ASOS ; Carly CZ drop earrings $14.99, Forever New ; Ermanno Scervino A-line pleated denim skirt $499.35, Farfetch ; Moth stripe top $149, Gorman ; Marc by Marc Jacobs Too Hot To Handle Mini drawstring bag $245.87, Revolve Clothing ; Beau Coops Edie bianco shoe $370, ZOMP

Wednesday: Mid-week event – Denim maxi

Add some drama to your next event with a floor-grazing maxi skirt. Pair with a simple tee and eye-catching add-ons like a statement ring, chunky watch or edgy earrings.

Felix ball & horn earrings $119, Amber Sceats  http://ambersceats.com/product/felix-ball-horn/ ; Rumi ring $109, Amber Sceats  http://ambersceats.com/product/rumi-ring/ ; Lina lace up sandal $252.14, Free People http://www.freepeople.com/shoes-sandals-gladiators/lina-lace-up-gladiator-sandals/ ; Molten Relic Beyond The Stars minaudière  $299, Molten Store  https://www.moltenstore.com/product/beyond-the-stars-minaudiere/ ; Pierre Balmain denim maxi skirt $725, net-a-porter  http://www.net-a-porter.com/product/512123/Pierre_Balmain/denim-maxi-skirt- ; Crew Neck Tee $85, Zimmerman http://www.zimmermannwear.com/crew-neck-t-black-1.html

Felix Ball & Horn earrings $119 and Rumi ring $109, Amber Sceats ; Lina lace up sandal $252.14, Free People ; Molten Relic Beyond The Stars minaudière $299, Molten Store ; Pierre Balmain denim maxi skirt $725, net-a-porter ; Crew Neck Tee $85, Zimmerman

Thursday: Movie night – Layered denim

Layer your denim with a trench, frayed tee and patched jeans - go for different shades of denim to keep the look modern. Add a hint of colour with a bright lip, and for interest, choose gold accents or zip details on your accessories.

Barcelona boot $169.95, Windsor Smith http://www.windsorsmith.com.au/barcelona-123391 ; Mimco Newton Day Pouche $399, David Jones  http://shop.davidjones.com.au/djs/ProductDisplay?urlRequestType=Base&catalogId=10051&categoryId=27133&productId=5633015&errorViewName=ProductDisplayErrorView&urlLangId=-1&langId=-1&top_category=26551&parent_category_rn=&storeId=10051 ; Violetta Lipstick $36, MAC  http://www.maccosmetics.com.au/product/shaded/168/310/Lipstick/index.tmpl  ; Marques Almeida Denim t-shirt dress $339, My Chameleon  https://www.mychameleon.com.au/denim-shirt-dress-p-3270.html ; Dietrich timepeace $279, Mimco  http://www.mimco.com.au/shop/jewellery/timepeace-watches/60169102-9471/Dietrich-Timepeace.html ; Petit Ami jean $259.95 Scotch and Soda http://webstore.scotch-soda.com.au/women/petit-ami/petit-ami--blue-edition.html?color=Denim+Blue

Barcelona boot $169.95, Windsor Smith ; Mimco Newton Day Pouche $399, David Jones ; Violetta Lipstick $36, MAC ; Marques Almeida Denim t-shirt dress $339, My Chameleon ; Dietrich timepeace $279, Mimco ; Petit Ami jean $259.95 Scotch and Soda

Friday: Morning coffee with mum - Cropped, wide-leg jeans

My favourite cut of new season jeans; wide legged and cropped in dark denim. For an androgynous look, pair with a collared shirt and boyfriend blazer, a hat and unisex fragrance. For a bit of fun and to keep it a little girly, add a sparkly loafer and colourful tote bag.

Simply stated felt fedora $19.95, Cotton On http://cottonon.com/AU/p/cotton-on-women/simply-stated-felt-fedora/239891.html ; Country Road Printed shopper $99.95, David Jones http://shop.davidjones.com.au/djs/ProductDisplay?urlRequestType=Base&catalogId=10051&categoryId=27133&productId=6052012&errorViewName=ProductDisplayErrorView&urlLangId=-1&langId=-1&top_category=26551&parent_category_rn=&storeId=10051 ; Puzzle loafer $269, Gorman  http://www.gormanshop.com.au/shoes-2148/autumn-15/puzzle-loafer.html ; Sleeveless blouse $29.95, H&M  http://www.hm.com/au/subdepartment/LADIES?Nr=4294892761 ; Mad Crops wide-leg jean $135.30, Nasty Gal http://www.nastygal.com.au/clothes/nasty-gal-denim--mad-crops-wide-leg-jean ; Plum Japonais perfume from $215, Tom Ford  http://www.tomford.com/plum-japonais/T1-PLUM-JAPONAIS.html ; Mensy Blazer by Boutique £130.00, Topshop  http://www.topshop.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/ProductDisplay?beginIndex=0&viewAllFlag=&catalogId=33057&storeId=12556&productId=17920866&langId=-1&categoryId=&parent_category_rn=&searchTerm=TS25B14HBLK&resultCount=1&geoip=home

Simply stated felt fedora $19.95, Cotton On ; Country Road Printed shopper $99.95, David Jones ; Puzzle loafer $269, Gorman ; Sleeveless blouse $29.95, H&M; Mad Crops wide-leg jean $135.30, Nasty Gal ; Plum Japonais perfume from $215, Tom Ford ; Mensy Blazer by Boutique £130, Topshop

Saturday: Girls night – White skinnies

For Saturday night drinks with the girls, let all white lead the way! Grab your pair of tight white skinnies and something chic (but warm enough for cool winter nights) on top with your most treasured accessories – something fashion-forward and yet timeless.

Mr Bamboo Fur bag $320, Deadly Ponies https://deadlyponies.com/collections/accessories/bamboo-fur ; The Oblivion Earrings $59, Molten Store  https://www.moltenstore.com/product/the_oblivion_earrings/ ;  The Music's Method shirt $290, Sass & Bide https://www.sassandbide.com/au/products/the-music-s-method-print ; Straight rip denim jean $89.95, Seed Heritage http://www.seedheritage.com/straight-rip-denim-jean/w1/i12272598/ ; Diavolina Kiss mule  $170.00, ZOMP http://www.zomp.com.au/diavolina-kiss-black

Mr Bamboo Fur bag $320, Deadly Ponies ; The Oblivion earrings $59, Molten Store ; The Music's Method shirt $290, Sass & Bide ; Straight rip denim jean $89.95, Seed Heritage ; Diavolina Kiss mule $170, ZOMP

Sunday: Picnic in the Park – Flares

Flares are back - hooray! Go full Woodstock circa 1969 with a colourful poncho, some fringe and vintage sunglasses, perfect for lazy Sunday afternoons.

Asymmetric tunic $149, Country Road  http://m.countryroad.com.au/product/60179136 ; Blanket poncho $149, Country Road http://m.countryroad.com.au/shop/woman/accessories/scarves-and-sarongs/60178730/Blanket-Poncho.html ; Wrangler Hi Bells jean $139.95, General Pants http://www.generalpants.com.au/shop-womens/wrangler/jeans/hi-bells-jean-isla-blue-1000054667-0 Robert Clergerie Elastic platform sandals $495, Maryon's http://maryons.com.au/sandals/robert-clergerie-1291.html ; Karen Walker Celebrate Orbit sungalsses $399, Sunglass Hut  http://www.sunglasshut.com/au/9324976184924 ; Urban Originals Burning Up bag $69.95, The Iconic http://www.theiconic.com.au/Burning-Up-197317.html

Asymmetric tunic $149 and Blanket poncho $149, Country Road ; Wrangler Hi Bells jean $139.95, General Pants ; Robert Clergerie Elastic platform sandals $495, Maryon's ; Karen Walker Celebrate Orbit sungalsses $399, Sunglass Hut ; Urban Originals Burning Up bag $69.95, The Iconic

THE PARTY ISSUE

View mag here >

Article by Jane Schon

Jane is a former Journalist of Style Magazines. She is addicted to theatre, travelling to far off places and developing her personal style (AKA shopping). Jane adores good food (and even better coffee) and is a self-confessed sleep enthusiast.

GET YOUR NAME
ON THE A-LIST!

Oi! Wanna be in the know like the rest of us cool kids?
Join the A-list for exclusive deets on everything Brisbane and beyond. Fashion, food, beauty, lifestyle and events.
You'll get it here first!